profile-image

Mich

Book Recommendations

Over the past months, I have been reading a variety of books. Here are some recommendations I have.

Technical

  • Designing Data-Intensive Applications

Gave a great insight and foundation on designing applications that handles big data, haven't finished it until now, quite a heavy content so it takes lots of brain power. It unpacks a lot, including how does database works behind the scene.

  • The Pragmatic Programmer

Great book for any programmers to pick up, touch on the foundations on writing a SOLID code. I have written a coding checklist based from this book and my personal experience. I use this checklist to ensure that I wrote my code in the best possible way.

  • System Design Interview

I saw the author on Twitter and love the way he explained on many concepts in software architecture, This book covers a lot of real life use-case, whether you are doing interview or not, this book is easy to pick up for those that want to understand more on the architectural side.

Fiction

  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Quite addicted with this book, I'm on to second book which is Scarlet. I haven't read sci-fi books for long and the first book Cinder is giving Kowloon Walled City x Cyber Punk vibe.

  • The Decagon House Murders by Yukito Ayatsuji

First time reading mystery book, I love this one, and I've also read the manga version of this, altho I didn't manage to guess the killer even until the end.